The executive director of the Local Planning Appeal Support Centre directs and manages operations and provides leadership and direction to staff. She also provides advice, expertise, and support to the board and board chair.

The board of directors holds the centre accountable and helps set the strategic direction for the organization.

The Local Planning Appeal Support Centre team includes planners and lawyers to provide advice and support for people involved in land planning appeals.


Mary Lee, Executive Director

Mary has more than 30 years of public sector experience in a wide range of provincial government ministries, boards and tribunals. Her experience includes adjudication, oversight, operations and business services.

Mary has been the director of strategic business services for two of Ontario’s tribunal clusters (Social Justice Tribunals Ontario and Safety, Licensing Appeals and Standards Tribunals Ontario) and oversaw the province-wide operation of eight boards and tribunals while serving as the director of operations for Social Justice Tribunals Ontario.

Mary is a graduate of York University’s Osgoode Law School, with a Masters of Law degree specializing in alternate dispute resolution.



Mark Christie, Manager – Registrar

Head shot of Mark ChirstieMark has broad experience in city building roles. As Director of Policy Planning at the City of Vaughan, Mark was responsible for the development, implementation, monitoring and renewal of the Official Plan and the city’s environmental sustainability program.

At the Ministry of Municipal Affairs, he helped develop the Growth Plan for the Greater Golden Horseshoe, the Greenbelt Plan and the Oak Ridges Moraine Plan, as well as guided the municipalities in the Greater Golden Horseshoe in developing their Official Plans.

He has worked on both the development and approvals sides of planning, and has appeared often before the Ontario Municipal Board.

Mark is a Registered Professional Planner and a member of the Ontario Institute of Planners.


Anna Pace, Chair

Anna Pace, Chair, Board of DirectorsAnna Pace has extensive experience in senior roles in public sector transportation and land use planning, intergovernmental and inter-agency relations, and transit governance.

Anna has led planning for major rapid transit projects at Metrolinx and the TTC. She has also held senior positions with the City of Toronto in City Planning, Transportation Planning, and Intergovernmental Relations.

Anna is a Registered Professional Planner and member of the Ontario Institute of Planners. She has a Masters in Environmental Studies – Urban and Regional Transportation Planning from York University.



Board Members

Mark Leach

Mark Leach has more than 30 years’ experience in law, policy and program development, and public sector leadership. A common theme throughout his career has been a commitment to improving access to justice, particularly for people whose interests are in conflict with those of large institutions.


Carolyn Mackenzie

Carolyn Mackenzie is chair of the Glebe Community Association and was recently appointed to serve on Ottawa’s Planning Advisory Committee as a representative of the Federation of Citizens’ Associations of Ottawa. Currently in a senior leadership role with Colliers Project Leaders, Carolyn brings significant commercial, advisory and project management experience to both her professional and volunteer roles.